Posted on November 7, 2015

Le Bistrot Pierre Nottingham Review

eating out/ Food & Drink/ Review

I won’t lie to you, before I was approached by Le Bistrot Pierre I had never heard of them. I can only think that is a sad thing now after our visit at the weekend. Everybody really should know about Le Bistrot Pierre and I’ll tell you why…

They serve great food! Really delicious food!

They are such great value for money I could hardly believe it. I don’t think I’m alone in thinking this as the queue out of the door on Sunday afternoon really spoke for itself. When was the last time you saw people queuing out on the street? When was the last time you considered standing on the street to get in to a restaurant?

They love kids! They really do, so much so they’ve created a beautiful hand-crafted activity pack of French-themed puzzles, games, story writing and their very own Où est Pierre? This 14 page pack was created with ‘family time’ in mind and encourages everyone to join in.

So are you convinced yet? Well let me tell you more about our visit anyway 😉

Photo 04-11-2015, 15 00 06

The kids menu is printed on the activity booklet and is £6.50 for a main, desert and drink which I think is really good value and pretty much inline with any other kids menu nowadays. All of the main courses are printed on the front.

Photo 04-11-2015, 15 00 21

The desserts and drinks are on the back. Both my kids were far too interested to look inside the booklets when we first got them to see what was inside. They’d have been happy with the basket of lovely French bread that was on the table and to just sit and do their colourings 😉

Photo 04-11-2015, 15 00 44

The activity books are really lovely and my kids are still doing the puzzles etc in them a few days later. They both loved Qu’est Pierre? Trying to find all the different objects and of course Pierre which are hidden in the picture.

Photo 04-11-2015, 15 00 57

So much thought has gone into designing these activity books and the kids really did love them. Mum and dad really enjoyed helping them and playing the games with them too, it was very interactive and made us all chat about talking in French etc.

Photo 04-11-2015, 20 18 21

Boo opted for the burger & fries and for dessert she went for the Chocolate Torte; she finished everything on her plates and said it was delicious! One minor issue was the carrot sticks as were dry and a bit floppy. Both my kids love carrot but they wouldn’t eat it. Sorry Le Bistrot Pierre, that was our only niggle though.

Photo 04-11-2015, 20 20 36

Bugs also went for the burger followed my his favourite chocolate & vanilla ice cream. He too did really well and enjoyed it but he wasn’t feeling too great so he struggled with his main. Although his ice-cream disappeared before I could blink 😉

So as you can see the kids are really well looked after. They also hide a cutout Pierre in some of the activity packs and Boo was lucky enough to find one of those which won her a bag of sweets leaving her very happy and Bugs a little disgruntled 😉

For the lunch menu you can opt to have one course £8.95; two course £10.95; three course £12.95 which is brilliant value for money.

Both myself and my other half went for the St. Marcellin starter which is Baked St. Marcellin (mild, creamy and nutty flavoured cheese from Isère, in the Rhône-Alpes region) with rosemary, served with lightly spiced pear chutney and sourdough toast.

Photo 07-11-2015, 12 56 23

For my main course I had Slow-braised beef with shallots, red wine, mushrooms and bacon which was heavenly, J had Pan-fried flattened minute steak with skinny French fries and black pepper butter which he started digging into before I got chance to take a photo 😉 For pudding we went for Chocolate and praline tart with caramel ice cream and Classic vanilla crème brûlée. Everything on our plates was thoroughly enjoyable, full of flavour and cooked to perfection!

We will most definitely be going back to Le Bistrot Pierre soon.

You Might Also Like

  • Ickle Pickle November 11, 2015 at 7:05 pm

    This looks like the perfect place for us with delicious food and great activity books! Lovely review. Kaz x

  • Kara November 9, 2015 at 6:53 am

    I have not heard of them before but it looks like somewhere we would like to eat with the kids and very reasonably priced too

  • Jen November 9, 2015 at 12:30 am

    I haven’t come across Le Bistrot Pierre, but that could be as we live in the last place to ever get a chain! I adore the activity packs they looked amazing

  • Ness November 8, 2015 at 10:40 pm

    I haven’t heard of Le Bistrot Pierre before but it looks like just the sort of place my daughter likes.

  • Stephen November 8, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    That looks amazing! It speaks volumes that people will queue to get in for something to eat. While I don’t have kids, when out eating it’s nice when places keep other peoples happy and entertained. Stephen :o)

  • Rachel November 8, 2015 at 6:45 pm

    Food aside, which looks just mouth-wateringly amazing, I love that there are activity books x

  • Michelle Twin Mum November 8, 2015 at 5:05 pm

    The kids booklets look great and the food fabulous, I’ve not heard of this brand before either. Mich x

  • Sarah Bailey November 8, 2015 at 1:30 pm

    What a delicious sounding menu and the food looks great! x

  • Jaime oliver November 8, 2015 at 10:01 am

    Sorry i am Nottingham based too and never heard of them either till now! … we must make a trip

  • Erica Price November 8, 2015 at 9:16 am

    This does look so good. I’m excited that they are opening one up in Birmingham in the spring.

  • Back to top